Workforce banner

Mental Health and Primary Care eLearning

The Mental Health Essentials eLearning program has been developed by the ACMHN, with funding from the Australian Government Department of Health, to support nurses working in general practice and primary care to develop their knowledge, skills and confidence to incorporate mental health into day-to-day practice. This program will help you to work to the Mental Health Practice Standards for Nurses in Australian General Practice

The program includes 5 x 1 hour Level 1 modules, which you can do one at a time, or all in one sitting, including:

Module 1: About mental health

Module 2: About mental illness and ways to engage

Module 3: Therapeutic approaches for everyday practice

Module 4: Mental health assessment, risk assessment and (care) planning

Module 5: Referral, documentation and care coordination

The modules will be released shortly and will be available FREE until December 31st 2018. 


Level 2 Workshops - Save the date for the workshop close to you!

The level 2 one day workshop will build on the underpinning knowledge and understanding gained from the above eLearning modules. To be eligible to attend, you must complete all online modules.

The workshop will focus on practical skills to assist you to apply the learning to your own practice. You will have an opportunity to analyse and discuss a situation/s to determine the best approach and begin to develop solutions that are discreet to your workplace, patients, and practice.

Dates and locations for these 2018 workshops are as follows:

  8 - Sydney
14 - Ballarat
22 - Adelaide
23 - Perth

11 - Newcastle
12 - Brisbane
13 - Townsville


22 - Darwin
23 - Cairns

23 - Hobart
27 - Canberra

Registrations will be made available shortly for these workshops. 

For further information email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


 Mental Health Practice Standards for Nurses in Australian General Practice

1 GPN StandardsFC   

Practice standards define and describe the practice of nurses, and in this instance, aim to guide practice and support the delivery of stepped mental health care by nurses working in general practice and other primary health care settings. 

These Practice Standards have built on the Australian and Nursing Midwifery (ANMF) National Practice Standards for Nurses working in Australian general practice. They provide an important framework against which nurses can self-assess their professional development needs and adjust their clinical practice to ensure that every person seen in the primary care setting has their mental health needs considered and addressed as appropriate.

The Mental Health Practice Standards is free to download:

Download the electronic version here or contact ACMHN National Office on (02) 6285 1078 to find out how you can get a hardcopy document. 



The ACMHN would like to acknowledge the Department of Health for funding the development of the Mental Health Practice Standards and the eLearning Mental Health Essentials Project 2017-2018.


Updated 19 June 2018